COMMITMENT

Respect for the environment, social inclusion, growth and performance


Sustainable Development is not a passing trend; it’s the direction in which history is moving. More than just a simple commitment to ecology, Sustainable Development is increasingly emerging as the business model for a changing world. The PGS Group intends to play a leading role in tackling the challenges of Sustainable Development. Companies can adopt a Sustainable Development policy that is consistent with their existing culture, without creating major upheaval in their organisation. We have placed Sustainable Development at the heart of our organisation by defining a number of strategic priorities based on three primary objectives: Manage and reduce the impact of our activities on the physical and human environment; contribute to the economic and social development of all of our stakeholders; anticipate future needs more effectively. These ambitious commitments, translated into measurable targets that depend on concrete action, are being implemented across all of our operations and integrated into our management procedures (investment, information systems, communications, etc.). We monitor our progress on a routine, coordinated basis, and communicate the results both internally and externally.
THE PGS GROUP’S CERTIFICATIONS IN SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

Our certifications

PEFC At PGS, preserving our forest resources and using them wisely are major factors in our ability to grow and advance as a company. A large number of major industrial groups, and even small and medium-sized businesses and manufacturers, are legitimately demanding a guarantee that new wood pallets come from sustainably managed forests. Certification from PEFC (Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification) provides a guarantee of the origin and traceability of wood materials used in the manufacture of wood or wood-based products. In October 2008, the Group’s three Technipal new pallet manufacturing sites were awarded PEFC certification; then in February 2009, the Beynel sawmill – a PGS production unit that was already PEFC-certified for sawn pallet timber – won expanded certification for the pallets themselves. PGS’s ability to sell PEFC-certified pallets is unmatched in France. The PEFC control chain provides an assurance to our customers that our pallets are made from sawn timber harvested from forests that are managed sustainably, i.e., with a view towards their economic, environmental and social uses. As part of the PEFC system, the PGS Group has pledged to comply with a number of requirements and procedures. For example, we do not use wood harvested from controversial resources; we evaluate our current suppliers; we conduct internal and external audits; we train the personnel involved in the control chain; we perform system reviews on a regular basis, and so on. Use PEFC-certified wood pallets for your transport needs, and become a new contributor to the environmental health of our forests! Helpful link: To learn more about PEFC.

"A company that is committed to a policy of reducing its CO2 emissions"

Reforest'Action & Positive! Companies
SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

Our commitments


Learn more about the PGS Group’s commitments on behalf of Sustainable Development
COMMITMENT

Community policy: diversity, a conviction we put into practice.


Since 2002 the PGS Group has been reaffirming its commitment to the community by forging active partnerships with sheltered workshops. Today, that commitment is reflected in our collaboration with six regional sheltered workshop sites that manufacture new pallets. Through service partnerships with organisations providing sheltered employment, PGS is taking steps to integrate the disabled into the workforce. Its initiatives employ nearly 200 people, whose job activities enable them to buy goods for themselves and reduce their reliance on the government. Through this partnership, PGS is making an investment in its community, as part of a firm commitment the Group intends to maintain in the future. Promoting diversity is an important objective within our human resources strategy. Our differences don’t make a difference...
INNOVATIVE PRACTICES IN RESPONSIBLE PURCHASING

Responsible purchasing


Our desire is to work with companies – and partners and suppliers in particular – who share our values, participate in our ethics initiative and embrace our policy of Sustainable Development. That is why we have joined with them on a campaign for education and accountability, as part of a plan for action and progress. Its goals are to ensure transparency and fairness in our selection of service providers, give preference to suppliers who are actively combatting illegal labour practices and rigorously complying with safety rules, and encourage the adoption of innovative solutions and eco-friendly products.
valorization

End-of-life pallets: established networks.

At PGS, pallets that have reached the end of their working life (meaning they cannot be repaired or no longer meet market standards or needs) become a byproduct – a distinct secondary material. We have set up networks for recycling those pallets. For example, sound pallet components (planks or dice) are reused as raw material for repairing used pallets. End-of-life pallets can also be used as a secondary raw material to produce pellets for manufacturing particle boards, or in industrial and large-scale boilers for energy purposes. The use of pallet pellets in combustion: this is a “dry” product with an LCV* one and a half times greater than bark. It can be used as a fuel alongside bark and sawdust to enhance combustion conditions. Pallet pellets are clean, with a consistent, calibrated size, and are relatively constant in their characteristics. * Lower Calorific Value.
PGS IS CONTINUALLY ASSESSING WORKPLACE RISKS TO EMPLOYEE HEALTH.

Health, safety and the environment

We take appropriate protective measures and train our workforce to lead the way in workplace health and safety. That commitment is reflected in a variety of areas:
PROFESSIONAL PRACTICES

Carbon Footprint Assessment


A carbon footprint assessment measures all greenhouse-gas emissions arising directly or indirectly from a company’s operations, using a methodology established by ADEME (the French Environment & Energy Management Agency). Our Group – which takes a proactive approach to all major topics related to the environment – decided to conduct its own carbon footprint assessment in June 2009, enlisting the services of the Institut Technologique FCBA. To date, the PGS Group is France’s largest pallet manufacturer to have undertaken a carbon footprint assessment. The company has already identified avenues for improvement that would reduce our most significant impacts, and is currently making progress in a variety of areas. Helpful link: To learn more about ADEME’s methodology for carbon footprint assessment:
MEDIA

Sustainable Development Award

The PGS Group was the winner of a GRANDDE Sustainable Development Trophy on 16 December 2010
6 PAYS
Implantations
divider implantations
RESTEZ EN CONTACT
Suivez nous
divider
PGS Groupe est présent sur les réseaux suivants , rejoignez nous !
facebook twitter google linkedin

Engagement

Respect de l'environnement, intégration sociale, croissance et performance


Le Développement Durable n'est pas une mode ; il fait partie du sens de l'histoire. Plus qu'un simple engagement à vertu écologique, le Développement Durable s'impose de plus en plus comme le business model d'un monde qui change. Le groupe PGS entend jouer un rôle de premier plan dans la prise en compte des enjeux du Développement Durable. L'intégration d'une démarche Développement Durable s'est faite en respectant la culture existante de l'entreprise, sans apporter de bouleversement majeur à l'organisation. Nous avons défini pour le Développement Durable, au coeur de notre organisation, un certain nombre de priorités stratégiques autour de 3 axes principaux : Maîtriser et réduire l'impact de nos activités sur l'environnement physique et humain ; Contribuer au développement économique et social de l'ensemble des parties prenantes ; Mieux anticiper les besoins de demain. Ces engagements ambitieux, déclinés en objectifs mesurables autour d'actions concrètes, sont déployés sur l'ensemble de nos activités, et s'intègrent dans les processus de gestion (investissements, systèmes d'information, communication, ...). Un suivi régulier est assuré et organisé autour d'une communication tant interne qu'externe.
Certifications du Groupe PGS en faveur du Développement Durable

Nos certifications

PEFC Préserver la ressource forestière et l'utiliser à bon escient constituent un facteur fort de progrès et d'évolution pour PGS. La garantie qu'une palette bois neuve provienne d'une forêt gérée "durablement" est devenue une exigence incontournable et légitime d'un grand nombre de groupes d'industriels, mais aussi de PME et de PMI. La certification PEFC(Programme Européen des Forêts Certifiées) vise à garantir l'origine et le suivi du matériau bois utilisé dans le cadre de la fabrication de produits en bois ou à base de bois. En octobre 2008, les 3 sites TECHNIPAL de fabrication de palettes neuves du Groupe ont été certifiés PEFC ; puis en février 2009, la scierie BEYNEL, unité de production du Groupe déjà certifiée PEFC pour les sciages à palettes, a obtenu l'extension de son périmètre de certification jusqu'à la palette. A ce jour, PGS dispose d'une capacité de vente de palettes PEFC unique en France. La chaîne de contrôle PEFC est le moyen de garantir à nos clients que nos palettes sont fabriquées à partir de sciages qui proviennent de forêts gérées durablement, c'est-à-dire dans le respect de leurs fonctions économiques, environnementales et sociétales. Dans le cadre du système PEFC, le Groupe PGS s'est engagé à respecter un certain nombre d'exigences et de procédures, comme : ne pas utiliser de bois issus de ressources controversées, évaluer ses fournisseurs actuels, procéder à des audits internes et externes, assurer la formation des personnels impliqués dans la chaîne de contrôle, établir régulièrement une revue du système etc. Laissez-vous transporter par la palette bois PEFC..., un nouveau contributeur environnemental à la santé des forêts ! Lien utile : Pour en savoir plus sur PEFC

"Une entreprise engagée dans une démarche de réduction de ses émissions en CO²""

Reforest'Action & Positives Companies
Développement Durable

Nos engagements


Découvrez les engagements du Groupe PGS en faveur du Développement Durable
Engagement

Démarche sociétale : la diversité, une conviction mise en pratique


Depuis 2002, le Groupe PGS a confirmé son engagement social en établissant des partenariats actifs avec des Etablissements ou Services d'Aide par le Travail (ESAT ou ex-CAT). Cet engagement se traduit aujourd'hui par la collaboration avec 6 sites ESAT régionaux, dont l'activité est la fabrication de palettes neuves. Par des partenariats de prestation de services avec les acteurs du secteur adapté, PGS se mobilise pour l'insertion professionnelle des travailleurs handicapés. Près de 200 personnes sont ainsi employées : travailler leur permet de consommer et de limiter leur dépendance vis-à-vis de l'Etat. C'est un investissement social que PGS réalise au travers de ce partenariat, un engagement fort que le Groupe entend maintenir dans le futur. La promotion de la diversité est un objectif important de notre stratégie de ressources humaines. Notre différence, ne pas faire de différence...
Des pratiques innovantes en matière d'achats responsables

Achats responsables


Nous souhaitons que les entreprises avec lesquelles nous travaillons, partenaires et fournisseurs notamment, partagent nos valeurs, participent à notre démarche éthique et s'imprègnent de notre politique en matière de Développement Durable. C'est pourquoi nous avons engagé avec eux une démarche de sensibilisation et de responsabilisation, au travers d'un plan d'actions et de progrès qui vise à : garantir la transparence et l'équité dans les processus de choix des prestataires, sélectionner prioritairement des fournisseurs mobilisés contre le travail illégal et attentifs au respect des règles de sécurité, les inciter à recourir à des solutions innovantes et à utiliser des produits respectueux de l'environnement.
Valorisation

Palettes en fin de vie : des filières bien établies

Les palettes en fin de vie dont nous disposons (non réparables ou ne convenant plus aux exigences et besoins du marché) deviennent chez PGS soit un sous-produit, soit une matière secondaire à part entière. Les circuits de valorisation que nous avons mis en place sont : Le réemploi d'éléments sain (planches ou dés) qui constituent une source de matière première utilisable pour la réparation de palettes usagées ; La production de broyat de palettes qui peut être utilisé pour la fabrication de panneaux de particules (matière première secondaire) ou dans des chaufferies industrielles et collectives à des fins énergétiques. Le broyat de palettes en combustion : produit "sec" avec un PCI* une fois et demie supérieure à celui des écorces : combustible, complémentaire aux écorces et aux sciures permettant d'optimiser les conditions de combustion, produit de granulométrie régulière, calibré, propre, relativement constant dans ses caractéristiques. * : Pouvoir Calorifique Inférieur
PGS évalue de façon récurrente les risques d'atteinte à la santé des collaborateurs dans leur travail.

L'hygiène, la sécurité et l'environnement

Il met ainsi en place les mesures de protection adéquates et forme ses personnels afin qu'ils deviennent les premiers acteurs de leurs santé et de leur sécurité au travail. Ainsi, cela se traduit, entre autres, par :
Démarche professionnelle

Bilan Carbone


Le bilan carbone sert à mesurer toutes les émissions de gaz à effet de serre liées à l'activité directe ou indirecte d'une entreprise, selon une méthodologie établie par l'ADEME (Agence de l'Environnement et de la Maîtrise de l'Energie). Notre Groupe, pro actif sur toutes les thématiques importantes touchant à l'environnement, a décidé en juin 2009 de s'engager dans la réalisation de son bilan carbone, et a mandaté pour ce faire l'Institut Technologique FCBA (Forêt, Cellulose, Bois, Ameublement). A ce jour, le Groupe PGS est le premier fabricant français de palettes à avoir réalisé son bilan carbone. D'ores et déjà, des pistes d'amélioration ont été définies pour limiter les impacts les plus significatifs, et un travail est en cours sur différents axes de progrès. Lien utile : En savoir plus sur la méthodologie du bilan carbone de l'ADEME
Médias

Prix du Développement Durable

Le Groupe PGS, vainqueur des Trophées du Développement Durable GRANDDE (Le 16/12/2010)
6 PAYS
Implantations
divider implantations
RESTEZ EN CONTACT
Suivez nous
divider
PGS Groupe est présent sur les réseaux suivants , rejoignez nous !
facebook twitter google linkedin